About SEDA Policies Net Metering Feed-in Tariff (FiT) Statistics & Monitoring EE Download & Media Directory Events & Trainings
About SEDA
Overview of SEDA
Vision, Mission and Core Values
Authority Members
Management Team
Organizational Structure
Functions of SEDA
Meaning of the SEDA's Logo

Home  »  About SEDA  »  Authority Members

Datuk Ir. Ahmad Fauzi Bin Hasan Acting Chairman

YBhg. Datuk Ir. Ahmad Fauzi bin Hasan was the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Energy Commission of Malaysia from April 2010 until June 2017.  Prior to the CEO position, he has held several positions after joining the Energy Commission in 2002, namely as Chief Operating Officer, Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Director.

Before joining the Energy Commission, he has also served in the Department of Electricity and Gas Supply (1999-2001), the Department of Occupational Safety and Health (1994-1998) and the Factories and Machinery Department (1978-1994).

He is a Professional Engineer registered with the Board of Engineers Malaysia with over 38 years of industry regulatory experience. His experience includes regulating and developing the technical, economic, safety and sustainability aspects of the electricity and gas supply industries. During his tenure as the CEO of the Energy Commission he has overseen the development and implementation of several successful reform initiatives to improve the economic and technical performance of the electricity and piped gas supply industries.

He has been actively involved with government agencies as well as industry associations and professional institutions in advising on the development and implementation of energy sector policy frameworks, plans and standards as well as in capacity building initiatives.  He speaks regularly on energy sector regulatory developments, challenges and prospects as well as energy industry best practices and sustainability initiatives at local and international forums.

He is currently the President of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) National Committee of Malaysia, Chairman (non-executive) of the Atomic Energy Licencing Board of Malaysia (AELB), Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM) and Adjunct Professor at Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN). He is also a recipient of the “ASEAN Excellence in Energy Management by Individual Awards” during the 35th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting in 2017.

YBhg. Datuk Ir. Ahmad Fauzi received his Ordinary National Diploma in Engineering from Norwich City College, England (1975); Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST), England (1978); and his Master’s Degree in Engineering from the University of Michigan, United States of America (1983).

He has also attended various professional training programmes, including on industrial major hazard control organized by International Labour Organisation (ILO), advanced management development by  Asian Institute of Management (2004) and INTAN-Harvard (2009), as well as utility regulation and strategy by University of Florida (2009). Today, YBhg Datuk Ir Ahmad Fauzi is also the Chairman of the Energy Commission and the Acting Chairman of SEDA.

Tan Sri Dato' Ir (Dr) Ahmad Zaidee Bin Laidin Member of Authority

YBhg. Tan Sri Dato' Ir (Dr) Hj Ahmad Zaidee Bin Laidin was appointed as a member of Sustainable Energy Development Authority with effect from 1 February 2015.

He holds a Master in Science in Technological Economies (Management & Industrial Science), University of Stirling and is a registered Professional Engineer with the Board of Engineers Malaysia. Careerwise, he was an engineer in Lembaga Letrik Negara/Tenaga Nasional for 24 years. Subsequently, he was appointed as Director (1994), Rector,(1996) and the first Vice-Chancellor (1999)  of Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM).

Professionally, he is a practising Electrical Engineer, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Malaysia, as well as Academy of Sciences Malaysia and is currently serving in the councils of both bodies. He is the Past President of the Federation of Engineering Institutions of Southeast Asia and the Pacific (FEISEAP) and a Past President of Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM) as well as the Senior Fellow of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia.

Academically, he is a Council Member of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia and a Board Member of Open University Malaysia and Meteor Learning Sdn. Bhd.  He is also Chairman and Director of Malay Education and Development Research Institute, an NGO.  He also serves on the Board of UNITEN. He was awarded the Degree of Doctor of the University by University of Stirling, the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Technology by Oxford Brookes University, and the Honorary Doctor of Letters by the Manchester Metropolitan University, as well as Honorary Professor of Napier University, United Kingdom. He was also awarded the Degree of Honorary Doctorate in Electrical Engineering from UiTM.

He was appointed Councillor of Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam (2000-2002), Chairman of SIRIM Berhad (2001-2004), and Chairman of Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO) (2005-2007). He was appointed to Chairman of the Board of Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka  in 2010.

He is currently a Board member YLI Holdings Berhad. He is also on the Board of Syarikat Mengurus Air Banjir & Terowong Sdn Bhd (SMART) and Chairman of ERINCO Sdn. Bhd.

Mr. Chan Cheu Leong Member of Authority

Mr. Chan Cheu Leong was appointed as a Member of SEDA effective 1 February 2015. He is a Council Member of the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (‘FMM”). He was also the former Vice President, Fiabci Malaysia Chapter (1993-1995). FIABCI is the French acronym of "Federation Internationale des Administrateurs de Bien-Conselis Immobiliers", translates as, "International Real Estate Federation".

He graduated with a Bachelor of Science (Engineering Production) University of Birmingham, England. He obtained his Masters in Business Administration (MBA) from the London Business School, University of London.

He is currently the Managing Director/Group Chief Executive Officer of Wah Seong Corporation Bhd. which is an industrial group involved in the manufacturing and distribution of steel water pipes, gas pipes, steel pipe coating for oil and gas sector, building materials and  engineering. He also sits on the Board of several private companies.

Mr. Chan’s previous experiences included positions as Managing Director at Tan & Tan Developments Berhad, a premier Property Group listed on KLSE and Group Executive Director at General Corporation Bhd which is a major conglomerate listed on KLSE with interests in property, construction, insurance, manufacturing, trading and plantation; instrumental in the listing of Malaysia British Assurance Bhd.


Copyright © 2018 SEDA Malaysia. All Rights Reserved.
Terms and Conditions of Use Links Enquiry Contact Us FAQs Sitemap